



## FACT SHEET

### Rwandan parliamentary elections, 16 September 2013

Elections in Rwanda are administered by the National Election Commission (NEC), an independent and autonomous body with the mandate to conduct free, fair and transparent elections.

### 1. Process

- Rwanda will hold parliamentary elections from 16 September to 18 September 2013.
- The Chamber of Deputies has 80 members elected for a five year term:
  - 53 MPs are voted by all Rwandans eligible to vote;
  - 24 female MPs are elected by women committee members at all levels, and district and sector council members;
  - Two MPs are elected by National Youth Councils at district and national levels as well as eight student representatives from secondary schools and eight from higher learning institutions;
  - One MP is elected by representatives of district, provincial, national Councils of People with Disabilities.
- Nomination of candidates for the Chamber of Deputies (Umutwe w'Abadepite or Chambre des Députés) closed on 19 August and the campaign period commenced on 26 August 2013, concluding on 15 September 2013.
- The General elections will take place on 16 September. The election of the 24 female Members of Parliament will be held on 17 September, and the election of youth and people with disabilities Members of Parliament will be held on 18 September. Polling stations are expected to be open from 7am to 3pm.
- Rwandans living abroad will vote on 15 September at Rwandan High Commission/Embassies or sites prepared by the Embassies across the world. Polling stations are expected to be open from 7 am to 3pm.
- Provisional results are expected no later than 20 September and final results no later than 25 September 2013.
- In the last parliamentary election, 56% of elected members of parliament were women.
- There are 410 candidates for the 80 seat Chamber of Deputies.
- Up to 5,953,531 Rwandans are eligible to vote.

### 2. Administration

• As of 6 September, NEC has accredited 1236 observers to monitor the elections, including 176 from outside Rwanda. International observers accredited to observe Rwandan elections include the European Union, African Union, Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries (CEPGL) and the East African Community (EAC).



# N

#### 3. Rules around political party registration

• In July 2013, Parliament made a number of amendments to laws governing political parties and politicians (*Organic Law N° 10/20/2013/OL of 11/07/2013*).

These changes include:

- Allowance for individuals heading public institutions (director generals) to be involved in party administration, while maintaining restrictions on judges, prosecutors, military officers, policemen, prison warders and agents in the national authority in charge of security.
- Restrictions on financial contributions to political parties from foreign nationals, foreign companies, other entities in which foreign nationals are shareholders, public institutions or Government parastatals, non government organisations and religious based organisations.
- Article 7 of the law prevents political organisations from basing themselves on race, ethnic group, tribe, lineage, region, sex, religion or any other division which may lead to discrimination.
- There are currently 11 political parties operating in Rwanda:
  - Centrist Democratic Party (PDC)
  - Democratic Green Party of Rwanda (DGPR)
  - Democratic Union of the People of Rwanda (UDPR)
  - Ideal Democratic Party(PDI)
  - Liberal Party (PL)
  - Party for Progress and Concord (PPC)
  - Party for Solidarity and Progress (PSP)
  - PS-Imberakuli
  - Rwanda Patriotic Front (RPF-Inkotanyi)
  - Rwanda Socialist Party (PSR)
  - Social Democratic Party (PSD)
  - The PDI, PPC and PSL and the PDC form part of a coalition with the RPF.
  - The Democratic Green Party of Rwanda was registered in August 2013 and has opted not to participate in this election.

For more information or for interviews, contact Moise Bukasa, Communications Officer, NEC (+250) 788834770 or <u>neccommunication@gmail.com</u>